Career Change

When you want to change career, one of the biggest obstacles is not knowing what to do.  You know you hate where you are but you don’t know where to go to.  And one then ends up lost, dissatisfied and stuck in a rut.

Interviewing entrepreneurs I’m interested to see there are different approaches.  Some say you have to know where you’re going. ‘The destination is vital.  I know where I’m going but i have no idea how I’m going to get there’ said one.  Whilst another said ‘I just keep doing what I love.  I don’t know where I’m going but I just keep going and the money comes’ says another.

But increasingly I hear it’s not about the destination, it’s about the journey.

With this in mind, I took more notice of the journey rather than the fact I was late for my destination.  I spotted things I wouldn’t have otherwise noticed.  Amongst them this:-

Journey over destination

And the story about Steve Graham of Whitstable selling his dream ice cream business.

For sale: a new life by the sea

So, enjoy the journey.  Start the journey of career change, the act of knocking on doors will open some and close others – the simple fact of starting to ask will help find the destination that elludes you.

Don’t be paralysed by not knowing the destination.  When you yearn for a job change, the only wrong move is no move at all.  What one thing can you do today to make change and start the journey?

P.S (Tempted myself, I did cut out the article about the dream business and ask if there were any takers in my household.  I was on my own on this one.)

This entry was posted in Dream Job and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

