Finding the Courage

Christie Millinery Designs by dream jobber Christie Stokes.

Christie Millinery Designs by dream jobber Christie Stokes.

I have been interviewing sensational and successful entrepreneurs and asking their advice.  What is it that makes them so special?

Well not much actually.  It was a surprise, and a relief, when I met them recently, to discover, those that were rich, were not motivated by money, they were motivated by a passion – to improve something, right a wrong, make something better or simply had the courage to pursue something that made their heart sing.

It’s not easy, it doesn’t happen overnight and it’s hard work.  But, it’s something we can all do.

They reminded me you only get one chance in life.

We’ve all heard it a lot.  I almost roll my eyes at the cliché.

But the recent shameful debacle at the BBC highlighted the point to me too.  Tim Davie aged 45, applied for the job of Director General at the BBC.  His background is Pepsi, not programme making.  But he had the nerve to go for it anyway.  He runs marathons, wears open necked shirts and believes in training.   He didn’t let any of that put him off either.

No one could have predicted what was to be unleashed as George Entwistle settled into his new job.  It wasn’t to be, and he left.  And Tim Davie suddenly became Acting Director General.  He will always have that on his CV – in a good way – not like George Entwistle.  If Tim Davie  hadn’t had the nerve to apply for the job, that never would have happened.

And the difference between those two people is ‘attitude.’  George seemed to give up.  Tim went for it.  Tieless and apparently fearless, Tim went into work and talked about how the BBC needed to ‘get a grip.’

And with all these examples in mind,  last week I was given a chance. With the voices of the entrepreneurs with me and this recent example of ‘giving it a go’ under my nose, I reassessed and applied for something which would lead me to be out of my depth.  I have butterflies and I can’t sleep.

When I hear stories of people with their dream job, I flinch at the thought of them never having dared to take that leap – off a cliff face, into the unknown.  Here’s three people who did and created:

Fabulous ties

Beautiful Scandinavian children’s clothes

Contemporary hats

What are you stopping yourself from doing?

IMG_3999[1]

This entry was posted in Dream Job and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Finding the Courage

  1. Thank you! I see now – everyone thinks I’m getting a new job – I’m not!!

  2. jelowder says:

    Great points and reminders, especially the aspect of passion + perspiration.

  3. Weekender says:

    So, when you jumped, where did you land?

  4. In the Royal Albert Hall singing for Prince William. I ruled myself out – but then took the plunge. I was selected which led to an opportunity of a lifetime – courtesy of my local Rock Choir run by Katy and set up by Director and chanteuse Caroline Redman Lusher. Thanks for reading and your comment1

  5. baby clothes says:

    Great blog you have here but I was curious about if you knew
    of any message boards that cover the same topics talked
    about here? I’d really like to be a part of community where I can get suggestions from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any recommendations, please let me know. Bless you!

Leave a Reply

